Wednesday, 17 June 2015

Ondo SWAN elect new executives

By Isaac Afolabi
Mr Akintunde Akinsemola has been re-elected as Chairman of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, Ondo State Chapter after defeating his opponent Mr Wahab Bankole by 21 votes to 11 votes. 
The election which was held at Nigerian Union of Journalist Press Centre, Akure, witnessed the emergence of the incumbent Chairman and others who will oversea the association's affairs for the next three years.

Declaring the results, The chairman SWAN Electoral Committee, announced that Mr Ayo Ogedengbe said 2 people were returned unopposed including the Assistant Secretary , Mr Issac Afolabi of Radio Nigeria Positive FM as well as the Vice Chairman, Mr Longe Olabisi for the post of the secretary.

Mr Giwa Segun (News Agency of Nigeria) polled 21 votes defeating his Mr Francis Akinnodi who garnered 11 votes. 

In his acceptance speech, the Chairman, Ondo SWAN, Mr Akintunde Akinsemola thanked members of the association and promised to work towards the upliftment of the association in the state and beyond.

Earlier in his address, the National President of SWAN who was represented by the Vice-President, South-West Zone, Mr Muyideen Adeleke urged the sports journalists to always contribute their quota towards sports development in the country.

No comments: